Relaymedia

Street Fighter V Release Date and Characters for PC, PS4: Beta 2 Begins this Week, Ken and Vega Playable

( [email protected] ) Oct 21, 2015 02:32 AM EDT

Street Fighter V Coming to PlayStation 4 and PC on March 2016 (Capcom)

Street Fighter V Coming to PlayStation 4 and PC on March 2016 (Capcom)

Street Fighter V is now entering phase 2 beta, according to recent announcement by its developer Capcom. The game will be tested on the PlayStation 4 and Microsoft Windows PC. Exact release date information for SFV remains a mystery. However, Street Fighter 5 is expected to arrive on PC and PS4 on March 2016.

Game Rant reports that the second beta will allow PC and PS4 players to battle against each other for the first time ever. Players expecting to see iconic SF characters such as Ryu, Cammy, Chun-Li, E. Honda and M. Bison are in a for a disappointment.

Instead, Capcom is taking the opportunity to trial never-before-seen characters. These include fighters Necalli and Rashid. For those unfamiliar with the game, Rashid is the new Street Fighter character wearing stereotypical Middle East attire. Fortunately, there are familiar characters included in the second beta. These include Ken, Vega, R. Mika and Karin.

Beta 2 will start being available online starting Wednesday, Oct. 21. At this time, players will be able to download four characters from SFV. On Friday, Karin and Rashid will be unlocked for the enjoyment of participating beta testers. The program concludes Sunday, Oct. 25.

Courtesy of Capcom, here is the rundown of the Street Fighter V Beta 2 schedule:

  • 10/21/15 18:00 PST (10/22 02:00 BST/10:00 JST) - The second SFV beta begins for PS4 users. Characters available: Ken, Necalli, Vega, R. Mika
  • 10/22/15 14:00 PST (22:00 BST/ 10/23 06:00 JST) - Servers down for scheduled maintenance for 12 hours.
  • 10/23/15 02:00 PST (10:00 BST/18:00 JST) - Servers back online. Rashid unlocked.
  • 10/23/15 09:00 PST (17:00 BST/ 10/24 01:00 JST) - The second SFV beta begins for both PC and PS4 users (cross-platform play).
  • 10/23/15 17:00 PST (10/24 01:00 BST/09:00 JST) - Karin unlocked.
  • 10/24/15 04:00 PST (12:00 BST/20:00 JST) - Servers down for scheduled maintenance for 10 hours.
  • 10/24/15 14:00 PST (22:00 BST/ 10/25 06:00 JST) - Servers back online.
  • 10/25/15 16:00 PST (10/26 0:00 BST/ 08:00 JST) - Beta 2 concludes.

Please bear in mind that cross-platform matches between PS4 and PC will only last two days. Respectively, this is not a whole lot of time. So, players should take advantage of this limited opportunity.

Hopefully, this time the servers will not be too overly affected by traffic. The previous first beta unfortunately crashed Capcom's server upon launch. That forced the Japanese gaming giant to temporarily close the server. Happily, players were able to resume download shortly thereafter.