Wow Hits 2004 Released

( [email protected] ) Oct 20, 2003 12:48 PM EDT

WoW Hits 2004 was released forth from the partnership of EMI Christian Music Group, Word Entertainment and Provident Music Group. Chordant Distribution Group bridged the album to Christian retail martkets while EMI Music Markting (EMM) approached the general markets.

With over 30 of the year’s top Christian artists and songs, Wow Hits 2004 has adult contemporary pop songs on the "Green" disc and hot AC and rock hits on the "Gold" disc. Among the artists featured are MercyMe, Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, Stacie Orrico, Third Day, Sixpence None the Richer, Kutless, 12 Stones, Steven Curtis Chapman and Jars of Clay. Warren Barfield, Across the Sky and Lil IROCC Williams, are the three new artists featured as part of bonus cuts.

"From the beginning we knew that WoW would appeal to core Christian music fans, but it was our vision to leverage WoW to introduce new users to the category. By partnering with us to position WoW outside of the music department, retail has helped deliver that mutually beneficial objective. As we celebrate the 9th year of WoW Hits, we remain focused on category growth and appreciate retail's continued partnership in this area," said Scott Hughes, president of The Next Agency and a consultant to the WoW partnership.

Marketing strategies will take the form of radio promotions such as the "Win It Before You Can Buy It" campaign and retail promotions that will locate WoW merchandise in the front of the store. Efforts to promote Wow Hits 2004 will be directed toward the Christian consumer market and encompass new consumers to the Christian music genre.In general markets, Walmart, Target, Kmart, Best Buy, will also promote WoW during the next few months.

Last year, WoW Hits 2003 sold 700,000 copies, adding to the grand total of albums sold under WoW brand to over 12 million records. Sales from WoW records have also helped to rectify the Christian music industry. The American Research Group reports that 74 percent of WoW consumers have also later bought an album featured on the WoW disc.

For the past seven years, Wow has donated a portion of its sales to local and national charities and ministries, including more than $1.3 million in funds to numerous entities, including the Gospel Music Association, the Christian Music Trade Association, the Martin Luther King Foundation, Nashville-based Rocketown Ministries and Neighbors Who Care.

WoW Hits 2004 Song List:

Green Disc

1. Newsboys He Reigns

2. MercyMe Spoken For

3. Amy Grant Simple Things

4. Steven Curtis Chapman All About Love

5. Bebo Norman Great Light of the World

6. Michael W. Smith Lord Have Mercy (live)

7. Point of Grace Day By Day

8. FFH You Found Me

9. Avalon Everything To Me

10. Nichole Nordeman Legacy

11. Jaci Velasquez You’re My God

12. Jennifer Knapp /Mac Powell Sing Alleluia

13. Caedmon’s Call Only Hope

14. Mark Schultz You Are A Child of Mine

15. Chris Rice The Other Side of the Radio

Green Disc Bonus Cuts:

** Warren Barfield My Heart Goes Out

** Across the Sky Masquerade

Gold Disc

1. Third Day Nothing Compares

2. ZoeGirl You Get Me

3. Relient K Getting Into You

4. Stacie Orrico Stuck

5. TobyMac Phenomenon

6. Sixpence None The Richer Breathe Your Name

7. Jars of Clay The Valley Song (Sing of Your Mercy)

8. Rebecca St. James I Thank You

9. Out of Eden Love, Peace & Happiness

10. 12 Stones The Way I Feel

11. Jeremy Camp I Still Believe

12. Kutless Run

13. Jump5 Why Do I Do

14. Audio Adrenaline Pierced

15. Joy Williams By Surprise

Gold Disc Bonus Cut

** Lil’ IROCC Williams All My People