Steven Curtis Chapman wins American Music Award

( [email protected] ) Nov 18, 2003 10:18 AM EST

Sparrow Records artist Steven Curtis Chapman won the American Music Award for Favorite Artist in Contemporary Inspirational Music. The event was held live in Los Angeles at the Shrine Auditorium on November 16 and was broadcast nationwide on ABC.

Second time’s the charm for Chapman, this win being the first of the two nominations in this category he has received. Chapman is one the ancestors for winners in this category since it has only been recognized for the last three years in the 31 years of American Music Awards broadcast.

Though excited to win the award, Chapman humbly accepted it by saying, “It’s great to know we have a home at this awards show. Because of this genre still be new to the AMA’s, along with fellow nominees Third Day and MercyMe, I feel this is more of a group win than the winner and a wonderful way to represent Christian music.”

Chapman also co-presented with Sara Rue (ABC’s Less Than Perfect) as they introduced The Bomb Squad, an unsigned band that won the Coca-Cola New Music Award Competition and the opportunity to perform on the AMA’s.

Dan Raines, President of Creative Trust and manager to Chapman, commented, “The momentum around Steven continues to grow and we are thankful to Dick Clark and all of the fans for this award.”

Winners of the annual show are selected by the public. A national sampling were sent ballots by the National Family Opinion, Inc. firm. Names of the nominees on the ballots were compiled from data supplied by Radio & Records Magazine (R&R) and the Nielsen SoundScan Inc. management information system.

Earlier this month, Chapman inspired others in other ways than through music. HE partnered with Family Christian Stores to promote donations opportunities for Shaohannah’s Hope Foundation and The James Fund. Proceeds from Chapman’s All About Love will go to the The James Fund and money raised from the adoption of the Christmas Barnabas Bear will go toward the Shaohannah’s Hope Foundation.