GMA Inducts Goodman and Patti Into Gospel Hall of Fame

( [email protected] ) Feb 11, 2004 03:19 PM EST

History is in the making as several gospel favorites and accomplished artists will be induced into Gospel Music Association (GMA) Gospel Music Hall of Fame. Free admission will be offered to the public attending the television taping of the event on February 11, 7 PM, at the Trinity Music City in Hendersonville, TN. Rev. Al Green, Vestal Goodman, Sandi Patty, and Frances W. Preston will all be honored.

“The newest inductees for the GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame exemplify the great diversity and history of Christian and gospel music," John W. Styll, GMA president said. "Their contributions to our culture have had a profound and lasting impact and will be forever remembered by this honor."

Goodman, also known as the “Queen of Gospel Music,” passed away last year on Dec.27, but was credited to being a Gospel music pioneer. Patty has not been a stranger to GMA, winning 39 Dove Awards throughout her career and five Grammy Awards. Green also won seven Grammy Awards after he began recording solely Gospel music in the 80’s. Preston, who will be inducted in the non-performer category, is the president and CEO of the BMI performing rights organization and permanent board member of the Gospel Music Association.

Michael W. Smith, who recently won a Grammy for “Best Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year,” Worship Again, at the 46th Annual Grammy Awards this Sunday, will be inducting the late Vestal Goodman. Smith will also perform in the Hall of Fame Awards Show finale. Pat Boone and Kristy Starling will be among the many artists present at the show.

Founded in 1971, seven years following the beginning of GMA, the Gospel Music Hall of Fame has added 125 honorees including Elvis Presley, Mahalia Jackson, Amy Grant, Bill and Gloria Gaither, Billy Graham, and the Blind Boys of Alabama, who also took home a Grammy for “Best Traditional Soul Gospel Album,” Go Tell It on the Mountain.

The GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame was established in 1971 and has inducted 125 members since its inception, including Elvis Presley, Mahalia Jackson, Amy Grant, the Blind Boys of Alabama, Andrae Crouch, Tennessee Ernie Ford, The Oak Ridge Boys, Petra, Bill and Gloria Gaither, the Rambos, Thomas A. Dorsey, the Fairfield Four, Billy Graham and the Jordanaires.

GMA also produced the Dove Awards, which recognizes achievements in all genres of gospel music. Yesterday, GMA announced the nominees for the 35th Annual Dove Awards to be held at The Gaylord Entertainment Center in Nashville, TN, on April 28, 2004.

More information regarding direction to Hall of Fame event can be directed to Trinity Music City’s 24-hour Information Line at (615) 826-9191.