Relaymedia

Overwatch Free Trial on Xbox One and PS4: Event Schedule for Europe, the Americas and Asia

( [email protected] ) Sep 02, 2016 01:15 PM EDT
Good news for gamers out there. Blizzard revealed Overwatch will be playable for free next weekend. It will also come with all of the game's heroes, maps, modes and many more. Now, here's how you can participate in the Overwatch free weekend on PS4 and Xbox One consoles. We'll also give details about the event's schedule on Europe, the Americas and Asia.
Latest on Overwatch free weekend Blizzard Entertainment

Good news for gamers out there. Blizzard revealed Overwatch will be playable for free next weekend. It will also come with all of the game's heroes, maps, modes and many more. Now, here's how you can participate in the Overwatch free weekend on PS4 and Xbox One consoles. We'll also give details about the event's schedule on Europe, the Americas and Asia.

Gamers will be able to download and play Overwatch from Sept. 9 to Sept. 12. According to the game's official website, the weekend trial will feature all of the paid features of the game. So expect all of the 22 heroes will be accessible for free. The game's 13 maps will also be playable. Not only that, the Weekly Brawl, Custom Games and Quick Play will be available as well.

As for the rumored character Sombra, it will not be featured. In addition, Eichenwalde map will not be available, despite that fact that is now available on the game's PC-only testing mode (PTR).

Meanwhile, take note that PS4 owners are not required to be a member of PlayStation Plus to enjoy the free Overwatch weekend. On the other hand, Xbox One owners should make sure that they are Xbox Live Gold subscriber to participate in the free weekend.

It is interesting to mention that Overwatch isn't the only game that asked players to have Xbox Live Gold subscription. Battlefield 1 open beta also required Xbox Live Gold subscription but not PS Plus. With this move, some Xbox One owners feel that they're not getting a good deal here as the Overwatch free weekend is technically not "free" to them.

For PC gamers, it is still unknown if the Overwatch weekend will be available for them in the future. Interestingly, NetEase president Li Riqiang said there's a possibility that PC users will able to play Overwatch for free. NetEase is a company that is in partnership with developer Blizzard.

See the schedule of free Overwatch weekend from Techno Buffalo below.

Europe

  • 19:00 BST on September 9
  • 20:00 CEST on September 9
  • 21:00 MSK on September 9

 The Americas

  • 11:00 a.m. PDT on September 9
  • 12:00 p.m. MDT on September 9
  • 1:00 p.m. CDT on September 9
  • 2:00 p.m. EDT on September 9
  • 3:00 p.m. ADT on September 9
  • 3:00 p.m. BRT on September 9
  • 3:30 p.m. NDT on September 9
  • 2:00 a.m. SGT on September 10
  • 4:00 a.m. AEST on September 10
  • 6:00 a.m. NZST on September 10

Asia

  • 2:00 a.m. CST on September 10
  • 3:00 a.m. KST on September 10
  • 3:00 a.m. JST on September

Tags : Overwatch free weekend, blizzard, Playstation 4, Xbox One, Windows PC games