Sixpence Bandmates Return with New Music Careers

( [email protected] ) Jul 24, 2004 03:17 PM EDT

Matt Slocum of the former Sixpence None the Richer Band has returned to the music world with his new band, Astronaut Pushers. Slocum, guitarist, celloist and composer with Sixpence, is joined by Astronaut Pushers bandmates Lindsay Jamieson (of Departure Lounge) and Sam Ashworth (Charlie Peacock's son from the group My Tyger). The band made their national debut earlier this month.

Currently, Leigh Nash is working on a solo project and recently performed with PFR's Joel Hanson.

In October 26, Sixpence will release a ¡§Greatest Hits¡¨ album with Word Records. Titled The Best of Sixpence None The Richer, the project contains 18 songs from all the projects they have worked on, including fan favorites, recordings from movie soundtracks and compilations, the Japanese version of ¡§Kiss Me,¡¨ recent breakthrough radio hits, and three previously unreleased songs.

A preview of the track is as follows:

Loser Like Me (previously unreleased from the Divine Discontent sessions)

Us (previously unreleased from the Divine Discontent sessions)

Too Far Gone (previously unreleased from the Divine Discontent sessions)

The Ground You Shook (from the compilation album, Roaring Lambs)

Kiss Me (self-titled album)

Breathe Your Name (Divine Discontent)

Melody of You (Divine Discontent)

Dancing Queen (Divine Discontent)

Don¡¦t Dream It¡¦s Over (Divine Discontent)

There She Goes (self-titled album)

I Need Love (from the Here On Earth soundtrack)

I Just Wasn¡¦t Made For These Times (from the compilation album Making God Smile: An Artists¡¦ Tribute to the Songs of Beach Boy Brian Wilson)

Breathe (from the compilation album Streams)

Brighten My Heart (from the compilation album Exodus)

Angeltread (This Beautiful Mess)

Within A Room Somewhere (This Beautiful Mess)

Trust (Reprise) (The Fatherless And The Widow)

Kiss Me (Japanese commercial single version import)