Album Review: Building 429 - Space In Between Us

( [email protected] ) Aug 03, 2004 03:47 PM EDT

Building 429 is a band built upon the rock of Christ since the earlier days of their youth.

The band is named after the Biblical verse in Ephesians 4:29 "Let nothing unwholesome come out of your mouths, but only that which is good for building each other up, according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen."

This tradition of the lifestyle of the Gospel has been shared among the band members and within their music ministry and their pursuit for God's Kingdom.

Building 429's most recent album, Space in Between Us, takes off from where Glory Defined left off, which had left an impression on fans of well-known rock bands such as Kutless and Creed.

According to CCM Magazine, fans who are expecting more hard-rock from this album may be a little disappointed by the increased selection of ballads and mid-tempo rock.

Building 429 is now more comparable to Matchbox 20 than to Creed or Kutless, and lyrically, their message is said to be hard and fast, needing more creativity in expressions. However, the magazine commented on the sure success of the album as the band becomes this new generation's youth group band, joining the Newsboys and Audio Adrenaline.

Although, more was expected out this anticipated album, Space in Between Us, does not fail to shine. Ultimately, it promoted a spirit of unison among the Christian audience.

"No One Knows" gently speaks of the God who knows our hearts more than we know ourselves, and radio-friendly "Glory-Defined" carries a catchy tune that will lift hearts excitingly to praise the Lord.

Seeking strength from above, "Above it All" simply expresses, "Lift me up above it all/ I'm feeling broken and alone/ but don't let me turn a stone/ lift my heart above it all/ 'cause I lost my hope tonight/ and I'm praying for the strength to carry on."

This project reminds all to seek love and comfort from God with its truthful message embedded in title.

1. Glory Defined

2. Above It All

3. Space in Between Us

4. One Time Too Many

5. Back to Me

6. Shadow of Angels

7. No One Else Knows

8. Never Look Away

9. Angeline

10. Show Me Love

11. You Are Loved

12. Spirit Lives On