David Crowder Band To Release Remix Album And Book About Sunsets And Sushi

Jan 14, 2005 04:05 PM EST

Passion worship team members the David Crowder Band will be releasing a special treat in their newest project, Sunsets & Sushi Experiments in Spectral Deconstruction, an album of remixes that "deconstructs" songs from the groups critically acclaimed Illuminate record and puts them back together again with a completely different musical interpretation.

"This project was an amazing experience," says frontman David Crowder. "It's a rare opportunity to view one's songs through another's lens."

"David's music has always had an electronic element to it, probably more so than most worship artists," adds Brad O'Donnell, EMI CMG A & R director. "This record takes that side of what he does and shines a spotlight on it. Instead of going the more traditional route of a DJ or "dance" remix record, I feel like David was able to create an entirely new, ambient mood with these textures, more in line with electronic records like the Postal Service or the Garden State Soundtrack. And yet, the great songs from Illuminate that people love so much are still intact and able to shine through."

Songs from Illuminate on Sunsets & Sushi include:

1. How Great

2. No One Like You

3. Stars

4. Deliver Me

5. Open Skies

6. Revolutionary Love

7. O Praise Him (All This For A King)

8. Intoxicating

Releasing simultaneously with Sunsets & Sushi is David Crowder's first book, Praise Habit ?Finding God in Sunsets and Sushi, published by NavPress. In the book, Crowder introduces readers to a new way of thinking about praise, focusing on it as a lifestyle, where it becomes as fluid and natural as breathing and as life-defining as any career, activity, or membership in a group. He reflects on the Psalms and explains how to center your life on what matters most: God and his jaw-dropping glory

Justin Cam

[email protected]