Columbia Theological Seminary Names Three Faculty Chairs

( [email protected] ) Jun 23, 2004 06:46 PM EDT

Columbia Theological Seminary named three senior faculty members, Charles L. Campbell, Kathleen M. O’Connor, and Marcia Y. Riggs, to faculty chairs.

Charles Campbell joined Columbia preaching faculty in 1991. He received B.A. from Hendrix College, the D. Min. from Union Theological Seminary, the S.T.M. from Yale University Divinity School, and the Ph.D. from Duke University. He published The Word before the Powers: An Ethic of Preaching, which contributed to the development of preaching in the twenty-first century. He now is promoted to the rank of professor and named the Peter Marshall Professor of Homiletics.

Kathleen O'Connor is a professor of Old Testament who joined Columbia in 1995. She holds the B.A. from College of New Rochelle, the M.A. from Providence College, and the Ph.D. from Princeton Theological Seminary. She published a book, Lamentations and the Tears of the World, which received a national award from the Catholic Book Association. She was named a Henry Luce Fellow for 2004-2005 by the Association of Theological Schools.

Marcia Riggs, who joined the faculty in 1991, is promoted to the rank of professor and is now named the J. Erskine Love Professor of Christian Ethics. She holds the A.B. from Randolph-Macon Women’s College, the M.Div. from Yale Divinity School, and the Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University. She published Plenty Good Room: Women Versus Male Power in the Black Church, which helped her gain recognition in religious ethical mediation.

Columbia Theological Seminary officials said that these three faculty chairs are recognized in their distinguished scholarship and service to the seminary and to the wider church.